Different between Co-broke and OP

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Different between Co-broke and OP

Hi everyone, I'm a new agent and just had a question in regards to the commission structure for rental apartments.

I've read online on a Hauseit medium article that co-broking means that the seller pays the listing agent a fee and that agent is obligated to split the fee with the tenant's agent. However, when I contact the listing agents of several RLS listings (properties that must be co-broked) they say there is a fee for the tenant. I thought co-broking means that the listing commission is paid for by the seller.

If someone could explain what I'm missing here, it would be appreciated, thanks.
    To co-broke means to split commission with another broker. In real estate, the listing agent will secure a commission from the seller that is split with a buyer’s agent. This splitting of…

Hi, I believe the article you read is mainly talking about sales, where co-broking is fairly regulated and required by REBNY. For rentals, it's an entirely different story as there are many types of fee structures that are permitted. It's really a bit of a wild west!

In rentals, who pays the fee really depends on the price point and how hard it is to rent the property. Because NYC has a very low vacancy rate, landlords can generally get away with the tenant paying the broker fee. This is especially the case for lower priced, easy to rent apartments.